cheap and cheerful quinoa lunch

 

What happens when you are working from home, get hungry, don’t have a car to go out, nothing in the fridge ready to eat, and no money to spend? This is what happens…

Lately everywhere I look, I see an article about quinoa. It is exciting that this seed (yes, it is a SEED not a grain!) is getting so much attention, as it is a great source of vegetarian protein, and is so easy to prepare. Just throw it in a pot with double the amount of water, bring to boil and simmer for 15 – 20 minutes, you’re done. Then the magic happens – whatever flavour you want, build it into your quinoa. I knew I had some frozen broccoli, and that made me think of stir-fry flavours, so I found some arame seaweed and toasted black sesame seeds in the cupboard, along with toasted sesame oil, tamari soy sauce, rice vinegar, and ginger for a dressing. I tossed in some pepper flakes for some heat. This was a yummy and satisfying lunch, and I have to say I felt great for the rest of the afternoon. It must have been from the protein, plus the nutrients in the seaweed and sesame seeds, not to mention the broccoli. Sometimes, all you need to do is open your cupboard…

Leave a Reply

