morning lemon – a tree to call my own

635218_lemon1.jpgSo, Sacred Suzie asked me an interesting question about lemons. Have I ever tried growing a lemon tree, and is it hard?

First of all, no, I have not tried growing a lemon tree. But after some googling, I am intrigued and might add this to my list of to-dos. It turns out that it is not outside the realm of possibility for someone to grow a lemon tree, even from seed, inside their house. How cool would that be, to have lemons right there on a tree in your kitchen when you needed them?

I found this great page, on a website of a company selling organic plant fertilizer packs, which gives a lot of info on growing a lemon tree indoors. Is it hard? Well, you have to make sure it gets lots of light, and a fairly warm temperature – which may be hard for some. But overall it seems doable to me. Also, it turns out you can order meyer lemon trees on amazon, but unfortunately they will not ship them to Canada. If anyone knows where a meyer lemon tree can be bought in Canada, please let me know!

I leave you with the chorus of the Peter, Paul and Mary song “Lemon Tree”, which is a classic, but I disagree with it, as someone just told me the other day that they like lemons so much they eat them like oranges!

“Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet
But the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.”

And special thanks to Suzie, for giving me a lovely mention on her blog!

3 thoughts on “morning lemon – a tree to call my own

  1. You are very welcome and thank YOU for looking into growing lemon trees! I had no idea that growing them inside was ever a possibility, how amazing is that?! It’s also super cool that you can grow them from the seeds from a fresh lemon. I may seriously consider doing this! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

