what I ate

Good morning, and welcome to my photos of three days of food! This was a great challenge and really got me paying more attention to what I was eating. But then again, being pregnant, there were a few indulgences and also some laziness. But overall, I think I did pretty well. Let me know what you think!

Day 1:

day1break1.jpg

Breakfast was grapefruit juice, blueberry yogurt (sweetened with honey, not aspartame!) with bran flakes. I prefer kashi cereals, but this is what we had in the house. The apple was sort of a mid-morning snack.

day1lunch1.jpg

Lunch was a yummy lentil/brown rice soup I made. It was so easy, and tasted amazing. If anyone would like the recipe, let me know – I also have some bonus pictures of the soup making process I will post another time.

day1dinner1.jpg

Dinner was sheppard’s pie made with with roasted garlic mashed potatoes, and salad with home-made balsamic/honey-mustard dressing. Sheppard’s pie is one of my husband’s favorite meals.

Day 2:

day2break.jpg

Breakfast was grapefruit juice, whole grain toast with almond butter and ground flaxseeds (lots of fiber here!), and yogurt was for mid-morning snack.

day2lunch.jpg

The lentil/rice soup makes another appearance for lunch (it’s great having soup available for days!) along with cucumber sticks, and I managed to get 10 minutes of sun outside for my vitamin D, before the bees came.

day2dinner.jpg

It was Friday, and we felt like a treat for dinner, so we tried a place near our house called Portugrill, which makes portuguese-style roasted chicken. I got 1/4 chicken white, with rice and roasted veggies. Was decent, but not as tasty as the downtown portuguese places.

Day 3:

day3break.jpg

The day before I had received some almost-too ripe fruit and veggies from a friend, and was going to spend the day making things out of them, so to get some energy, we decided to go to our favorite breakfast place. I had a fried egg and cheese on whole wheat sandwich, with a cup of decaf. Didn’t think that was really picture worthy, so took a pic of the strawberry banana muffin I ended up making instead (had as a snack!)

day3lunch.jpg

Lunch was home-made guacamole which used up my friend’s avocados and tomatoes, plus some of her goat yogurt. It was sooooo good. I also made baked garlic pita chips for dipping. I have the recipe if anyone is interested!

day3dinner.jpg

Well, I had big plans for this last dinner, I was going to make salmon and veggies in foil so people who haven’t done this before could see how to do it, but here some of the laziness set in. It was Sunday night, I had been shopping/baking/guacamoling all day, I was feeling big and fat, and I just couldn’t be bothered! So, I still did pretty well by whipping up this romaine, cucumber and broccoli salad with tuna, topped with my home-made dressing. The fish in foil trick will make an appearance on the blog at some point!

Hope you all enjoyed this little peek into my food world. Remember, please ask for recipes if you like – the muffins, guacamole and soup were all excellent!

Thanks again Sarah, for initiating this challenge!

12 thoughts on “what I ate

  1. Hi Cordelia – I love to have the lentil rice soup and the strawberry banana muffin recipe.

    You’re doing great with you eating….I tend to have the same things over and over again.

    Laila

  2. I guess I was the lucky friend who got some of the guacamole, garlic pita chips and strawberry muffins…yummy…

    …much appreciated last night when I returned home after a long trip…

    …hey, did you know that Cord is a great kitty-sitter as well?…

  3. Mmmmm…Yummer’s

    I’ll take the Guacamole and Lentil/Rice soup recipes Cord. Hahaa, remember those banana chocolate chip muffin recipe you gave me…have you revamped your recipe since?

    Thanks,
    Hope your feelin well little mama!

  4. That soup looks GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Need the recipe!

    Did you know Auntie Coyle is also a great baby-sitter?????
    🙂

  5. I want the soup recipe too. Everything looked great! I am thinking maybe we should all do this again maybe next week. I’ll post about it in the next day or two. I think it was fun to see what others are eating, and it gave me some great ideas. I can’t wait to see the recipe for the soup!

  6. I love the pictures, and what a wonderful idea to share your meals with us. There is nothing like the visual to make the blog beautiful…and frankly, to make my mouth water, I’m off for a nice piece of fruit or natural snack. Happy blogging!

    Claudia a/k/a The Happy Nutritionist 🙂

Leave a Reply

