happy roasty halloween

pumpkins.jpgI love Halloween. Every year I want to go all out, but have been holding back, as it’s been just me, my husband, and our pets. Soon, now that we are expecting our first child, Halloween will become what I’ve always dreamed it would be – that magical, festive, spooky celebration that I remember from my youth, for which I can go overboard with treats, parties, and decorations! This year it’s especially poignant, as I can feel a new life inside me who can’t yet enjoy this favorite night of mine. So one last time, we did the traditional 2 pumpkin carvings, and I’ll enjoy spreading a little love around tonight when the goblins come knocking.

There’s been some interesting news about pumpkin seeds floating around lately, and I also just completed some food research, so the benefits of pumpkin seeds were top of mind during the carving. Here’s a few highlights: pumpkin seeds are high in minerals like magnesium, iron and zinc, which are essential for your health. They promote prostate health, may be beneficial in cases of arthritis due to anti-inflammatory properties, and can help reduce cholesterol levels due to their phytosterol (a plant compound) content. They make a great snack, can be added to trail mix, salads, or a rice pilaf. So of course I couldn’t let these gems go to waste – I looked up some instructions for roasting and got busy.

pumpseed1.jpgpumpseed2.jpgpumpseed3.jpg

I remember having roasted pumpkin seeds as a child, and they were savoury (you can find recipes which have sweet or citrusy seasoning) so I used a bit of sunflower oil, salt, pepper, cumin and cayenne pepper. The most time consuming part was the washing/drying of the seeds – they are sticky, slippery buggers. The lower temperature you roast them at, the more preservation of their healthy oils – but I followed a recipe I found for 325 F for 30 minutes. They are cooling as I type. The house had an amazing aroma of cumin as they cooked. I’m looking forward to snacking on these later.

I hope you all have a fun and devilish Halloween tonight. And if you have any tips on other ways to use pumpkin seeds, please share!

3 thoughts on “happy roasty halloween

  1. I am so happy for you that you will be able to celebrate Halloween with your little one in the near future! That is truly a blessing.

    I use garlic salt as a way of seasoning my pumpkin seeds. I’ve been a seed fanatic for a long time but ever since I broke my tooth I’ve had to give up sunflower seeds. I will definitely be roasting my pumpkin seeds this year and be eating them on the other side of my mouth!

  2. Happy Halloween! You should celebrate anyways for the kid in you. Oh wait I didn’t mean it like that but oh well! Blessings to you and may magic abound this night.

  3. Thanks to you both – it was a good Halloween anyway. Not that many kids, as we are on a main street, but we’re going to watch The Burbs in bed in a while, which will be lots of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

