nature’s fat, round 2

20131114-132235.jpgSo last week I posted a picture of avocado being used in tuna salad instead of mayo. Some of you may be wondering why it’s a big deal. Well, to me, a jar of mayo represents some negative things: Processed food with added sugar, salt, artificial colour, and waste. Yes, you can make your own mayo. As a Mom, although I like to create in the kitchen with my kid (we made the egg salad pictured together) I appreciate some convenience so making mayo just isn’t high on my list of foodie priorities right now. And yes, I do have other condiments in my fridge. The dreaded ketchup is there, and mustard. But I was committed from the beginning to teaching (enforcing) good eating habits to my son, so the ketchup rarely gets used. The mustard I consider a lesser evil because there is no added sugar and the colour boost comes from turmeric (my fav!). So I really don’t need another jar, especially when there is an alternative that I don’t have to make, comes straight from nature, and has nutritional benefits.

I only used mayo as a sandwich spread, in egg salad/deviled eggs and tuna salad. You can use avocado for all of that. And guess what? You can even use avocado in smoothies, pasta sauces and cupcake frosting! And geez, I almost forgot GUACAMOLE. So seriously less waste, you know you’re gonna use up your avocados somehow.

When my son was a baby, I’d buy an avocado, cut it open and feed it to him as a snack in the park. Your body needs fat, it’s great for your brain, and this is the best way to get it. Avocados are loaded with good fats including omega-3s that help lower cholesterol and promote brain health. They are also full of fibre, potassium and vitamins. Yes they are high in calories: That’s what makes them a great snack on their own, not just as an additive in recipes. Really I could go on and on for days about all the great nutrients in avocados, but I like to sum it up like this – grab it, slice it, go. You really cannot go wrong with an avocado.

If you want to know even more about avocados, I have a link (over there, on the right!) to a great website, The World’s Healthiest Foods. They have all sorts of interesting history, benefits and recipes for so many foods. Green food rocks! Just tell your kid it’s monster food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

